Love Labor's Lost

volumes of mis-adventures

Shavuot!

on May 16, 2013

This week was a unique celebration in the Tribe’s history. Shavuot, or the Feast of Weeks, is a celebration of receiving the Torah at Mount Sinai. It is customary to eat dairy, and study the scripture all night long in jubilance. My dear friend, D, invited me to her home, where she cooked a grandiose meal for a group of 7: D, her husband, myself, and 4 of their male friends. As I was the last to arrive, and did not think to ask, who would be invited, I was surprised to walk into a room of males, with D and I being the only ladies, and D being the married lady of the house.

As we ate and drank, and settled into a high level discussion about the Book of Ruth, and explicating the symbolism of the first fruit in connection to her conversion, I was overwhelmed with elation. I was in a room of scholars; a room filled with individuals, specifically assembled to fuel discussion and perpetuate great conversation. The thought-process, the mind-mulling of images, neurons firing to create new creative connection, infused the small one-bedroom apartment. The entire night reminded me of the beauty of words, thought, and dialogue. Being able to pass along thoughts, constantly building to assemble an understanding or pose questions in an endeavor to further the hemisphere of information is a beautiful thing. I know that among the bright minds of that room, I was not quite light enough to participate completely, but remembering that learning happens from both ends, and listening is just as paramount to growth as participation, it renewed a spark within, and on this sleepy Thursday morning, my mind is buzzing, and I’m hoping to read a bit of the Book of Ruth this weekend.

Side note: it did not elude me that D may, or may not, be trying to set me up with one of these 4 males, or maybe all four of them, but that’s a story for another blog.

Leave a Reply

