Love Labor's Lost

volumes of mis-adventures

All smiles

on November 2, 2012

Hi [my name],

So I was going to wait to call you after work today but, frankly, I
was excited and didn’t really want to wait until then to ask you out
again. Would you want to go out with me this Thursday?

***

I met Jo* for date number two last night. We decided that it was probably one of the last few nice nights in Chicago before the bitter cold thrusts itself upon us, so we took advantage and went for a moonlit stroll along Lake Michigan. We walked and talked about a recent article I read, about philosophies, about work, about summer camp, about lifeguarding, about lighthouses, about Christmas lights…We sat for a while looking at the lit up Chicago sky line, and then in the thick silence, feeling his gaze on the side of my cheek, I turned and he kissed me.

Who would have thought, Jo,* from high school

Leave a Reply

