Love Labor's Lost

volumes of mis-adventures

Thinking it through

on September 12, 2010

Have you ever seen every experience in your life pass through your mind in succession? Have you ever processed every awkward moment or rethought your actions from years past? It seems silly, if something has happened, you can’t change it, so why dwell on it? Seemingly, we all have moments in our lives that we would like to take back, change, or even completely erase, some might call these regrets, in fact, I do.

I had the idea for this blog while I was adventuring in San Francisco. It seemed that my new environment presented an opportunity for reevaluation: intellectually, socially, and personally. Simultaneously, I became unrecognizable to myself. I was more forward, more outgoing, less conscious of what might happen, and more spontaneous. The point of this blog originally was to chronicle my extravagant, and at times ridiculous, dating experiences, and while I will not disappoint, there will be laughs to be had at my expense, I think that this has morphed into a project of reflection and self discovery.

I am back in Chicago, starting a new journey, and yet, letting go and clearing my mind of all that has past is insurmountable. Of course, the cliché of old, we wouldn’t be who we are today without our past, but there has to be some level of serenity and understanding of our past, without it overcoming and dominating our thoughts. I urge you to pay attention, in the moments of silence before you go to sleep, while you’re sitting in the twinkling daylight, or absorbing the cool evening air, what are the thoughts that stream through your mind? Are they of relationships of the past? Conversations you had or didn’t have with your parents? Arguments with your friends? Why are these the thoughts we have? Hopefully, one entertaining dating story at a time, I will be able to make peace with “regrets” of old, and finally have a silent slate to make new memories.

Leave a Reply

